USF OTI Education Center

USF Health - College of Public Health

OSHA 2264

2264 – Permit-Required Confined Space Entry

Days: 3  Hours: 20  CEUs: 1.7  Tuition: $500  

Course Description:

This course covers the safety and health hazards associated with permit-required confined space entry. Course topics include recognition of confined space hazards, identification of permit and non-permit required confined spaces, use of instrumentation to evaluate atmospheric hazards, ventilation techniques, development and implementation of a confined space program, proper signage, and training requirements. This course features workshops on permit entry classification, instrumentation, and program development. Upon course completion students will have the ability to identify permit and non-permit required confined spaces, reference the OSHA Permit-Required Confined Spaces Standard, conduct atmospheric testing, and implement a permit-required confined space program. Minimum student contact hours: 20

Scheduled Classes

Dates Times Locations Registration Links
7/29/2019 – 7/31/2019 8:00:00 AM – 4:30:00 PM Jacksonville Fl Register Here!
9/30/2019 – 10/2/2019 8:00:00 AM – 4:30:00 PM Fort Lauderdale FL Register Here!
11/4/2019 – 11/6/2019 8:00:00 AM – 4:30:00 PM Kissimmee Fl Register Here!

Prerequisite:

None

Course Objectives:

  • Upon completion of the course, participants will be able to:
  • Define terms specific to permit-required confined space operations
  • Identify current standards governing permit-required confined space entry procedures
  • Describe hazards associated with permit spaces
  • Demonstrate the proper operation of certain testing instruments and explain their limitations
  • Describe appropriate ventilation, personal protective equipment, and emergency procedures that are necessary for entry into permit spaces.

Course Topics:

  • Permit space hazards
  • Entry procedures
  • Ventilation requirements
  • Personal protective equipment
  • Permit system
  • Note: Some math will be required; participants will need calculators with log functions..

ABIH: 3.34

ABIH has previously awarded CM credit for this event. The current event contains 20 hours which can be claimed for CM credit. Rules and additional information for Event Providers is available at: American Board of Industrial Hygiene

Disclaimer:

Accommodations for Disabilities

Accommodations for Disabilities: Please notify the USF OTI Education Center, 2612 Cypress Ridge Blvd., Suite 101, Wesley Chapel, Florida, 33544 or call (813) 994-1195 a minimum of ten working days in advance of the event if a reasonable accommodation for a disability is needed. Events, activities and facilities of the University of South Florida are available without regard to race, color, sex, national origin, disability, age, or Vietnam veteran status as provided by law and in accordance with the University's respect for personal dignity.

Cancellation Policy

Registration fees are assessed in accordance with USF OSHA Training Institute Education Center cancellation rules.  All fees are subject to change without prior notice.  USF OSHA Training Institute Education Center will make every effort to advertise all changes to policies and fees as promptly as possible when such changes occur.

A cancellation fee equal to 25% will be assessed for all cancellation requests, regardless of the reason for the request.

The request for cancellation of the registration must be provided in writing (fax or email are acceptable) and must be received (not postmarked) at least 10 business days prior to the start date of the course for which the student is requesting cancellation.

If the request for cancellation is received more than 10 business days prior to the start date of the course, the student may elect either to send a substitute or to request that the funds be transferred to another course without penalty.

If the request for cancellation is received less than 10 business days prior to the start date of the course, a substitute student may be sent.  However, transfers and refunds are not available during this time period; and all funds paid for the course will be forfeited.

If a transfer is requested, the course elected must begin within six (6) months of the original course start date.  A transfer can only be requested one (1) time.  A $18 transfer fee will be charged.

If the student elects to register for a course less than 10 business days prior to the start date of the course, and thereafter, finds that attendance will not be possible, the student may elect to send a substitute student.  However, transfers and refunds are not available during this time period; and all funds paid for the course will be forfeited.

Updated 2019 May 03-08:14