USF OTI Education Center

USF Health - College of Public Health

OSHA 2015

2015 – Hazardous Materials

Days: 4  Hours: 26  CEUs: 2.5  Tuition: $700  

Course Description:

This course covers OSHA General Industry Standards and other consensus and proprietary standards that relate to the use of hazardous materials. Course topics include flammable and combustible liquids, compressed gases, LP-gases, and cryogenic liquids. Related processes such as spraying and dipping, and use of electrical equipment in hazardous locations are also discussed. Upon course completion students will have the ability to assess compliance with OSHA hazardous materials standards, determine hazardous (classified) locations, and proper moving, storing, and handling of hazardous materials. Minimum student contact hours: 26

Scheduled Classes

Dates Times Locations Registration Links
7/8/2019 – 7/11/2019 8:00:00 AM – 4:30:00 PM Pensacola FL Register Here!
8/19/2019 – 8/22/2019 8:00:00 AM – 4:30:00 PM Fort Lauderdale FL Register Here!
11/18/2019 – 11/21/2019 8:00:00 AM – 4:30:00 PM Wesley Chapel FL Register Here!

Prerequisite:

None

Course Objectives:

  • Upon completion of the course, participants will be able to:
  • Describe methods for detecting unsafe storage conditions for hazardous materials
  • Explain electrical factors that may contribute to the creation or abatement of hazardous conditions
  • Relate hazardous conditions and unsafe procedures to the appropriate standards for abatement action
  • Specify the necessary precautions for hazardous operations, such as the dispensing of flammable and combustible liquids
  • Describe proper abatement techniques for selected industrial hazards.

Course Topics:

  • Flammable and combustible liquids
  • Compressed gases
  • LP-gas
  • Cryogenic liquids
  • Spraying and dipping processes
  • Electrical equipment
  • Process Safety Management
  • Hazardous Waste Operations and Emergency Response
  • Permit-required confined space entry

ABIH: 4.34

ABIH has previously awarded CM credit for this event. The current event contains 26 hours which can be claimed for CM credit. Rules and additional information for Event Providers is available at: American Board of Industrial Hygiene

Disclaimer:

Accommodations for Disabilities

Accommodations for Disabilities: Please notify the USF OTI Education Center, 2612 Cypress Ridge Blvd., Suite 101, Wesley Chapel, Florida, 33544 or call (813) 994-1195 a minimum of ten working days in advance of the event if a reasonable accommodation for a disability is needed. Events, activities and facilities of the University of South Florida are available without regard to race, color, sex, national origin, disability, age, or Vietnam veteran status as provided by law and in accordance with the University's respect for personal dignity.

Cancellation Policy

Registration fees are assessed in accordance with USF OSHA Training Institute Education Center cancellation rules.  All fees are subject to change without prior notice.  USF OSHA Training Institute Education Center will make every effort to advertise all changes to policies and fees as promptly as possible when such changes occur.

A cancellation fee equal to 25% will be assessed for all cancellation requests, regardless of the reason for the request.

The request for cancellation of the registration must be provided in writing (fax or email are acceptable) and must be received (not postmarked) at least 10 business days prior to the start date of the course for which the student is requesting cancellation.

If the request for cancellation is received more than 10 business days prior to the start date of the course, the student may elect either to send a substitute or to request that the funds be transferred to another course without penalty.

If the request for cancellation is received less than 10 business days prior to the start date of the course, a substitute student may be sent.  However, transfers and refunds are not available during this time period; and all funds paid for the course will be forfeited.

If a transfer is requested, the course elected must begin within six (6) months of the original course start date.  A transfer can only be requested one (1) time.  A $18 transfer fee will be charged.

If the student elects to register for a course less than 10 business days prior to the start date of the course, and thereafter, finds that attendance will not be possible, the student may elect to send a substitute student.  However, transfers and refunds are not available during this time period; and all funds paid for the course will be forfeited.

Updated 2019 May 03-08:03